Since then watercolors have become an established part of the history of painting. ", "As a professional artist I use a lot of supplies and I've been shopping at Jerry's since 1996! You can then expand you mixing possibilities and ease of use of your mixing palette by adding some secondary and convenience colors. Look at the transparency rating when comparing watercolors - Paints are usually categorized as “transparent”, “semi-transparent”, or “opaque”. I don’t think you should select your watercolors without knowing a little bit about what you’re buying first. Quinacridone Burnt Orange: PO48 (Transparent & single pigment). Watercolor paints are rated using the ASTM scale (American Standard Test Measure) which ranges from “excellent” to “very poor”. These pans exist in two sizes known as “full pan” or “half pan”. Warm Red - Pyrrol Scarlet: PR255 (Semi-transparent & single pigment). Here are the earthy hues I use in my palette. This color has a similar appearance to Yellow Ochre. A honey-based watercolor.Honey has many virtues: a symbol of light and sun, an emblem of poetry and science and has been used since Ancient times as a remedy for dry skin and to help heal wounds. It has consistent handling properties across different brands. The roots of Sennelier watercolors are to be found in the Impressionist school. This is because the ingredients aren’t the same (something has to make them cheaper… Right?). Yep… It’s the pigments that cost money. This is a brightly saturated red and mixes beautifully with yellows and greens to produce a wide range of earthy browns. In general you’ll find that watercolor comes in two different formats: tubes or pans. It gives me a consistent sap green appearance when I want a fast color for vegetation. These are the foundation of your mixing palette - start here. This paint is quite granular. Sennelier watercolors are ground in the traditional way using grindstones rotating slowly so as not to heat up the paste. It produces wonderfully s